Pumpkin Cinnamon Applesauce

I have seriously neglected this thing. For almost 2 months. T.T

However, now that I’m finished with my 5 weeks of night float, I am now on a much much lighter rotation! Giving me more time to do…nothing! Catching up with fall TV for sure, but also many other things that I really should be doing. Like giving an extremely thorough cleaning job to my studio (it’s a studio for goodness sake, why can’t I keep it clean!?), doing my laundry on the reg, getting caught up with some studying, case logging and dare I say it…thinking of some research ideas?!

During my night float, several of my med school buddies were also on a night rotation of some sort. And overwhelmingly hated it. At least that’s what Twitter told me. I seemed to be the only one who was loving it! I don’t really know why. We got quite busy as the weeks went on, and I sometimes did not get to eat although I would always stock up on a ton of snacks and drinks. But I still really really enjoyed it. I think. The reason, I think, must have to have been my team. I loved working with my R3 and chief. We had each other’s backs, were encouraging, looked out for one another (mostly them looking out for me if I seemed to be drowning) and importantly, created a safe space to vent when need be. I think the last rotation has really solidified the concept for me: The people are the most important part of your job. The hours were crazy, all I did was eat, work, sleep, shower, work, repeat, but because of the people I was with, it made it a wonderful experience. 

Not only that, but I was talking to a friend of mine online who has the most incredible travels around the world, hitting up London, HK, Sydney, etc but because of who she was working with and spending that time with, she was having a horrible time. Really really, people matter.

For those M4s going on interviews soon, really really remember that. Residency is hard enough, try to make it a bit easier for yourself with a program where you can see yourself fitting in. Sometimes you have to pull away some of the glitz and glam and take a hard look at the people there.

I also cannot believe that we are going to be interviewing people for a new intern class already. WTH! I’m BARELY an intern, how can we be looking for new ones already!? I don’t feel like I know anything!! Hopefully that changes…but yeah pre-interview dinners being organized, tour groups, lunches. Man. I’ll be seeing it from the other side…wonder what that is like. Also makes me kind of wonder what they thought about me last year.

Anyways. Recipe for this entry: Pumpkin Cinnamon Applesauce. It’s a pretty Autumn kind of recipe, and good for lazy people like me. And healthy I think. NO SUGAR ADDED! 😀 Got the recipe from The Novice Chef Blog which I got from Pinterest (of course). And another of course, I did not really follow exactly what it said.

Pumpkin Cinnamon Applesauce

Yield: 4 cups of applesauce, 8 servings

Recipe Note: Notice in the directions the apples do not need to be peeled. The skin of an apple holds a lot of nutrients, and once the apple is cooked down and pureed, you won’t even notice it’s there! Also, this recipe has No Sugar Added, just natural sweetness!

ingredients:

2 1/2 pounds apples, cored and chopped
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
juice of 1 lemon
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1 teaspoon vanilla

directions:

In a heavy bottomed pot over medium high heat, combine apples, cinnamon, lemon juice, and water. The liquid will not cover the apples. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat. Simmer the apples for 45 minutes to an hour, stirring occasionally, until apples are super soft.

Once apples are nice and tender, remove the pot from the heat. And now we split off into two groups of people. Chunky or Smooth!

Chunky: Add pumpkin puree and vanilla. Smash apples with a potato masher until you reach the desired chunky-ness.

Smooth: Carefully transfer apples and all liquid to food processor or blender. Add pumpkin puree and vanilla. Puree until desired consistency.

Serve applesauce room temperature or cold, straight from the fridge. Store applesauce in an airtight container, refrigerated, for up to 1 week. Or freeze up to 3 months.

I’m not exactly sure how many apples accounts for 2.5lbs, but I just used two large apples that I happened to have in my fridge…which were there for at least 2 months. But still good!!! I swear!! But like I said, great for lazy people. Chop the apple up however you want, doesn’t need to be even, doesn’t have to look nice, don’t need to peel them. Then just put them all in a pot with water, cook cook cook. I also cooked it for a pretty long time. Don’t know how long, just went by the mush factor. Watched some “New Girl” then some “Grimm.”

I also don’t have a food processor or a potato masher, so I kind of just chopped it as much as I could with a spatula in the pot after it got soft and smushy. Worked pretty well I suppose. And DEFINITELY tastes better cold.

I just need to figure out what to do with the rest of that can of pumpkin puree I have.

Leave a Reply

